Caitlin Johnson

Caitlin Johnson

OT

Hello my name is Caitlin.

I qualified as an Occupational Therapist in 2017, at the University of the Free State in South Africa. I completed my community service year at Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital in Cape Town, in 2018. I then went on to open my own paediatric private practice in 2019, where I saw a variety of children between the ages of 9 months and 10 years old. I have experience in paediatric and and neonatal development, sensory processing difficulties, autism spectrum disorder, ADHD, learning difficulties, behavioural difficulties, early childhood intervention and paediatric psychological fields of practice. I have worked in a variety of schools, including special schools and an autism-specific preschool.

I have a special interest in autism, sensory integration and sensory processing difficulties, early intervention and paediatric development.

I am a greatly passionate about helping people and especially passionate about working with children. I also have a passion for empowering individuals, especially children, to achieve their goals in life.
Regarding care of children, I believe that the needs and wants of each child, and their family/caregivers, should be respected and greatly considered when creating goals and aims for intervention. I am committed to continuously striving to represent the child’s best interests, in order to provide the highest level of service I possibly can.

I am joining Words First as their first Occupational Therapist, and am looking so forward to helping create a dynamic multi-disciplinary team.
I am excited to be a part of a company that is research-driven and always puts the child at the centre of everything they do. I love how Words First therapists aim to provide a long-term impact not only on children as individuals, but also on the environment and schools as a whole. I will specifically be working in 2 special schools, and will be also be doing private assessments and intervention, consulting and training when my capacity allows.

I love my job and absolutely love working with children, but when I am not working, I love spending time with my 4-legged best friend, Ella. I enjoy going for walks, or runs, seeing new places, meeting up with friends or trying out new coffee shops. I am a go-getter and an adventure-lover!

If you had to call my best friend and ask her to describe me, I think she would describe me as fun, spontaneous and hard-working.